302 South Julia Street, Poplarville, MS 39470

Tennis News 03/05/2015

The PHS tennis season is in full swing. Returning varsity players Ryan Schubert, Kaitlyn Barber, Skylar Baldwin, Phoebe Nix, Penelope Nix, Sarah Recatto, Caleb Davis, and Caleb Jones welcomed new varsity members Mary Ruth Pridmore, Sarah Coleman, Tanner Miley, Christopher Castaneda, and Christian Couvillion. Also, new to the team are Alli Caro and Raelyn Taylor.
The Hornets faced Stone County in the first match of the season. Winning for the Hornets were singles players Kaitlyn Barber and Ryan Schubert. The mixed doubles team of Caleb Davis and Skylar Baldwin lost in a third set tiebreaker.
Next up for the Hornets was George County. Kaitlyn Barber continued her winning ways by defeating her singles opponent.
Coach Lynn Anderson said of this year’s team, “We are a very young team. Many of our players, including some on varsity, have never played tennis before this year.  I’m proud of the way our team played in our first matches. Ryan, Kaitlyn, Caleb, and Skylar showed great promise in the first two matches. They will be the leaders of our team. As our other players get more experience, I expect them to be in the winning column.” 
Share the Post:

Upcoming Events

Recent Posts

The Poplarville School District offers educational/vocational opportunities on a nondiscriminatory basis in compliance with the requirements of the following federal civil rights legislation: Title VI, Title IX, the Vocational Amendments of 1976 and 1979, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Individuals with Disabilities Educational Act. Further, the Poplarville School District offers equal educational and employment opportunities to all persons without regard to sex, race, religion, color, national origin, age, or disability. The district’s contact coordinator for compliance with these requirements is Stachia Peterson, Title IX Coordinator and 504 Coordinator 302 South Julia Street, Poplarville, Mississippi 39470, Phone (601) 795-6153.

Weather Alert

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.